When I was Small…

25 May 2010

I tried my hand at making rice cereal today. It’s about a month and one week before Emma will be starting solids, but I wanted to make sure I knew what I was doing before I was actually feeding it to her.
It was a pretty easy thing to do.
1/4 cup of rice (I used brown) yields 2 cups cooked cereal. You just obliterate it in a food processor dry, boil it in 1 cup of water for 10 mins (stirring constantly) and then cool it and add 2-3 oz of milk to thin it down. Baby only needs a few onces, but you can freeze it in an ice cube tray which is great!

That being said, I am torn nowadays between excitement about her growing up and wanting her to stay tiny. I have a love/hate relationship with her dependence on me. I really want her to grow out of pinching me, throwing up on me, and screaming when she needs me. I really want to dress her up in new outfits and look forward to new phases of her life. However, I love being able to carry her. I love it when she smiles at me while I nurse her. I love the newness of the things that are new now.

I guess I can’t really do anything about it but write and take pictures. Lots of pictures…

Leave a comment

Filed under Children and Family

What would you like to add?

