I have been blessed…

Wow!  What a winter break.  Christmas was busy, beautiful, and full of family and friends. So was New Year’s.  To begin with, our Chinese friend moved back into our home for part of the break.  I’m glad she returned.  Not only did she help me with things like doing the dishes and watching Emma, she is also a very kind and friendly individual, AND I got to spend a lot of time talking to her about Jesus.  (She spent all day yesterday reading the book of Luke and asking me questions, then we went to a Bible study together and we all talked with her and answered her questions.  Everyone got so excited that our evangelism seemed like worship.  It was!  I pray God will receive our small offering of excitement and praise in sharing His Son with a new friend.)  I have really enjoyed having a female friend to talk with everyday instead of being at home alone with Emma.  Not that I don’t love playing with Emma, but the joy is increased with another person at home- especially one who can understand me and talk back to me.

Daniel and I were in the church cantata.  A first for the two of us together and especially for our daughter.  It made me cry during the dress rehearsal and I had to get over it by the actual production.  It was set in a modern drama, with parts pointing to Jesus throughout.  We played the couple with a baby, and there was another couple who had been struggling to have a baby.  It really challenged me.  Not acting, but I almost wanted to say I couldn’t do it, because I do have a friend who has been trying to have a baby for over a year, and I love her very much and want nothing more than for God to bless her with a child.  So, this play kind of put me in the position where I already am.  Please God,  I am asking you again.  Be with my friend.  Wrap your arms around her and love her, and hear her cry to you.  Answer her, Lord.  Glorify Yourself in this situation, and in all others of our lives.  Please, send her a child to teach about You and to love as a blessing from You.  Amen.

Christmas was filled with even more meaning through being able to share it with Rebecca.  Also, because it was our daughter’s first Christmas, there was much excitement and wonderful time with family.  We visited with everyone, and for the first time in my life, I finally felt that feeling of having a “whole” family at Christmas time, which I had been praying for for years.  God has blessed me greatly.

I got Daniel a snowboard for Christmas, and his mother helped me out with the rest of the “snow” package.  I was excited for her because she never surprises anyone, but we did it this year together.  I always assumed she just didn’t like to surprise anyone, but it was just that she thinks it’s too hard to do.  I love surprises!  (and being surprised.  Like, one of my dreams is for someone, some year, to throw me a surprise party.)  I hate it when someone knows what I bought them for Christmas or their birthday already.  She surprised me, by getting me the other snowboard that Joey was selling.  So, Daniel and I spent New Year’s Eve up on Beech Mountain.  I actually did a good job this time, and it was a blast!  Afterwards we came back, picked up our baby from the wonderful grandparents, and went to the Clements for the last hour of the year and to ring in 2011.  It was wonderful.

Speaking of the Clements.  I also got to see Tori for part of the break, which I am happy about.  I am glad she came back for a while.  Sad it was early due to the passing away of her grandfather, but happy he is healed and in Heaven now.  I don’t know her nearly as well as I once did when we were just two little girls poking fun at her older brother, but I am still glad I got to see her.  Oh, and I’m super happy she is back in Texas seeking what God wants her to do next.  Go, Tori!  Enjoy your bohops!  Twice.

Speaking of friends, I was going to do this awesome thing in December and write a bunch of thank you notes to friends I am grateful for.  I only did it with one, and that was yesterday.  I intend to do it again.  Nothing bad came of it, and she said it made her day.  I love my best friend, Chibi.  I would not be who I am without having spent the last 7 years as her friend.  She’s wonderful.  I guess I will just take all of 2011 to write all of those notes.  🙂

Oh.  Well, there’s more, and it was awesome, but I am gonna hit the hay.  Night.

2 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Deep and Wide

2 responses to “I have been blessed…

  1. Thanks Carla! I’m so glad we got to spend some time together! I really enjoyed it and I think you’re great! Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. You made me cry…but that’s ok! I still love you! Thank you for all that you do, say, and pray for me. You are a wonderful friend and truly an encouragement.

What would you like to add?

