Hosea 2:16

Growing up, I studied Hosea at least once as a teenager, but it didn’t impact me nearly as much as it does now that I am married and understand more fully the impact adultery could have on a marriage. I was reading in it for a discussion board question and came across Hosea 2:16. I was floored. You know how awful it would be if, how often relationships immediately end upon, the act of saying someone else’s name in bed? How often do we see it in movies, on television, and the like? How much it must damage a relationship completely to know that someone is thieving all of your love and passion to satisfy their lust for another’s apparently unsatisfying love?

“And in that day, declares the LORD, you will call me ‘My Husband,’ and no longer will you call me ‘My Baal.'” (H2:16)

Yet this is exactly what we as “God’s people” have done. Yet God takes us back and fixes our relationship with Him. Wow!

I would want to leave my husband over that.

I’m sure my husband would be hurt so much he couldn’t stand me.

Yet God wants me back!? He has taken the initiative!? He sacrificed Himself out of love for ME!?

 

“Turn, O LORD, deliver my life; save me for the sake of your steadfast love.”

(Psalm 6:4 ESV)

“Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O LORD!”

(Psalm 25:7 ESV)

“But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.  I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.”

(Psalm 13:5-6 ESV)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Deep and Wide

What would you like to add?

