The Farsighted See Better Things…

As promised, here is my second post of the art work that I did for my other friend, Breehan.  She won the contest of “guess how big around Chibi’s baby bump is”.  So, realizing I had no prize for said contest, I promised to make her a piece of art for her new place like the ones I made for Chibi’s nursery.

I asked her if she had been reading anything in particular in the Bible recently, and she responded with this:

“I don’t have anything in particular, though I’ve been in Ephesians.  And since I think I know why you are asking, I would like to add that I like owls and green and purple.”

Then, the next day, I was going through the available magazines in the waiting room at the chiropractor’s office and stumbled upon the owl edition of something hunting related.  This little owl chick just had to be the one.  So, I asked if I could take her home with me and they said yes.  🙂

Image

Then she sat staring at me from my magnet board in the kitchen for a long time, just because I liked having her around.  She’s so kyute.

When I finally had a moment to work on the project away from the kiddos, I got all excited.  I placed all the paper patchwork style underneath.  Then I positioned her, and started painting the branch.

Then my paint pen ran out of ink!  >.<

I improvised a lot to make that silly branch turn out ok.  But I like the end product.

Halfway through, I decided I didn’t like the first verse I picked out.  Since we had just been to Passion 2012 together, Ephesians held some real significance for us all recently.  We all read through the entire thing one night during one of the sessions.  Also, since she had picked an owl, I wanted it to have some meaning as well.  As opposed to just being a cute owl taking up space.  My friend is also struggling, just like all of us, to be a light in a fallen world.  I figure owls live the majority of their lives in the dark as a nocturnal species.  God designed them to be able to see by reflecting the light that is available to them.  So the message of this piece is that we ought to keep our eyes on Jesus, in order to be able to “see in the dark” and simultaneously be reflecting Him back into the world that we live in.

Image

For at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true), and try to discern what is pleasing to the Lord. Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them. For it is shameful even to speak of the things that they do in secret. But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible, for anything that becomes visible is light. Therefore it says,
“Awake, O sleeper,
and arise from the dead,
and Christ will shine on you.”
(Ephesians 5:8-14 ESV)

Image

So, there you have it.  My third piece.  🙂  I love you, Bree!

Oh, and another cool thing about this one, is that the board was salvaged.  It was packing material for the bunkbed my daughter sleeps in.  I thought it would make a good piece of art someday, and I’m glad I kept it around.

2 Comments

Filed under Artwork, Friendship, Picture Perfect

2 responses to “The Farsighted See Better Things…

  1. Cindy Brady

    This is so cute–you are so creative, Carla!! I don’t have it, but I know it when I see it!!
    Love ya!
    Cindy

What would you like to add?

