16 week update.

After 10+ days of worrisome and painful symptoms, I heard the baby’s heart beat today.  I also measured just right for being 16 weeks pregnant, so everything seems to be fine.  I tested slightly dehydrated, but other than that I am doing well.  Since that could be at least one reason behind the problems, I guess I need to up the water intake.  I was rather thirsty last week, as I remember.  Hopefully, that will make things stop hurting.  Otherwise, it could be that I have had all these pregnancies back to back (to back)  and my body is just a little worn out.  Such is the nature of sacrifice in this situation.  Or it could have something to do with stress and lifting too much weight (a.k.a. Gus).  She also put me on progesterone for the cramping, and I think it has lightened the severity of the symptoms.  It has a side effect of making me even more sleepy than I already am with watching my two young-uns and sometimes my friend’s, and trying to keep this house clean while pregnant.  I’m thankful for my friends who have been praying for me, and my husband who has been taking such good care of me.  24 weeks to go!

In other news.  I cut Gus’ hair.  He now officially looks like a little boy.  So much so that it is actually easier to discipline him now, because he doesn’t look like a baby anymore.  It also makes him look like a little thug at times, barreling down the hallway chasing his sister.  Also, when he throws a fit, I find that I can’t ever take him seriously, because the face he makes is the same expression as the first time I saw him right after he was born.  I am transplanted to that memory every time I see it, and cannot do much but smile.  He has also learned to holler my name along with his cries when he wakes up from a nap.  Love that milestone, I do.

Bug and I are both suffering from fears.

Recently she sat on the space heater in our bedroom.  She was standing next to it, and is completely aware that it is a hot item and not to be touched.  Suddenly, with no warning (or discoverable reason) it sparked.  Scared, she tripped and sat down on the metal grate.  This left a nice waffle print burn on her bum and a terror-filled expression on her face.  I had to calm her down, but she was so nuts I didn’t even discover the burn for a few minutes, because she wouldn’t let me do anything but hold her.

So, when we went to visit the grandparents, and she saw the pilot light in their gas fireplace, of course there was a bit of a frenzy.  And there are nightmares, noisy neighbor scares, unmuffled car engine startles, etc… in reality a very long list of scary things that set her off.  I have also been having plenty of nightmares, which are of course enhanced by the pregnancy hormones.  So my normally awful nightmares, are now downright horrendous and graphic.  On a lighter note, my normally wacky dreams are also now exaggeratedly insane.

Everyone in this house just needs a little more sleep.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy

What would you like to add?

