Jesus Loves the Little Children…

Help me please, fellow Christian friends!

I need some advice regarding Emma with the following back story information:
We talk about God, sin, Heaven, Jesus, His death, His resurrection, and other related topics all the time. It’s a constant dialogue because she’s usually interested and brings up the conversation herself even.

A week ago she said she wanted to pray and ask to go to Heaven. It got dropped because when we started talking to her about it she switched the conversation to giraffes and crocodiles and I didn’t want to force anything.

Today she asked again to “ask to follow Jesus to Heaven,” and so I talked to her about it. She stayed focused and asked me to pray with her. I didn’t want to turn her down, so we prayed the simplest form of the prayer of salvation I could do. We talked about being a sinner, thanked Jesus for dying for us, and asked Him to fill her with faith to follow him the rest of her life.

What do I do?  I’ve been praying for her to accept Christ as soon as she can, so I want to believe He is answering that prayer. I want to keep guiding her of course. I know she will need it. I asked Daniel for help but I’m not sure he believes she’s legitimately “getting saved”. I don’t know what I think. I do know if I blow it off like it’s not the big deal that it is, then that will not encourage or strengthen her. So I’m paying attention to her and encouraging her along as she leads. Other than that, I’m just mystified that this is happening at 3 years old. Do I treat her like a Christian now? Do we pray through this again later, or even often as she grows in understanding? What do I do from here?

 

Verses I’m contemplating right now:

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.” And he laid his hands on them and went away.
(Matthew 19:14-15 ESV)

Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”
(Luke 18:17 ESV)

I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.
(2 Timothy 1:5 ESV)

 

Have any to add to the list?

 

I’m really just stuck on where to go from here and what “fruit” to look for, and what to do if I don’t see any growing after a while.

Both Daniel and I were “saved” at a young age but grew up thinking we were safe, somewhat falling into a pharisaical lifestyle, and really feel like God has saved and changed us in a greater fashion as young adults in this current phase of our lives.  I don’t intend to discredit her faith at all, but I don’t know what to do with it, how to nurture it, how to grow it, how to validate it.  I don’t want her to fall into the trap of thinking that she is fine and can coast on a prayer said at the age of three, but I also don’t want to make too light of a great situation if indeed she has accepted Jesus as her savior.

1 Comment

Filed under Children and Family, Help Me

One response to “Jesus Loves the Little Children…

  1. Pingback: Faith, a Share in ‘God’s eye-view’ of things | Parchment Paradigm+

What would you like to add?

